Ontario Uses Handbrake in Thunder Bay & Simcoe Muskoka

Published On
February 26, 2021

On February 26, 2021, the Provincial Government announced nine public health regions will move to new levels within the new COVID-19 framework. The Government will use its “emergency brake” system to move two regions – Thunder Bay District Health Unit and Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit – into the Grey-Lockdown zone to combat virus spread.

Based on the latest data, the following public health regions will move from their current level in the province’s COVID-19 framework into the following levels on Monday, March 1, 2021 at 12:01am.


  • Simcoe-Muskoka Public Health Unit
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit


  • Niagara Region Public Health


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit
  • Southwestern Public Health


  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Huron Perth Public Health


  • Grey Bruce Health Unit

Peel Public Health, Toronto Public Health, and North Bay Parry Sound District are still under shutdown measures. The Stay-at-Home order will continue to apply until at least Monday, March 8, 2021, with final decisions to be based on key public health indicators and consultation with the local medical officers of health. All other public health regions will remain at their current level.

As regions move through these zones, dealers will be able to open to the public with fewer restrictions. OMVIC released a bulletin on February 13, 2021, outlining what requirements are necessary for dealerships in each zone.

Questions about what each level means for your dealership can be directed to [email protected] or the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services’ Stop the Spread Business Information Line at 1-888-444-3659.